A QUOTE I LIVE BY

I stumbled upon a quote whilst I was scrolling through my twitter feed about a week ago and it truly made me question how I was living my life.

“The lion does not lose sleep over the opinions of sheep” – unknown

We live our lives in constant fear of being judged by those we love, those we have never seen and will probably never cross paths with again. We fear how they may perceive us, hence a facade is worn to mask our true selves. I can’t remember the last time I was truly myself around anyone because I was afraid of their opinions of me. It wasn’t long after I came across this quote that reality dawned upon me.

Judgement is inevitable and unsolicited opinions are given. You can’t stop it from occurring, for some – if not most – people can’t refrain from being the judgemental person they are. Some say it’s human nature to judge and yes, that is somewhat rather true but some people have learned to evolve past judging but they aren’t what I intend to write about today.

We have uncontrollable feelings and strong emotions. We are humans after all . Sometimes we let this fear of being judged consume us little by little, oblivious to the destruction that follows on our minds. You shouldn’t fear judgements nor should you let it be your downfall. Instead, rise from it and roar like a lion. Evidently, this is not an easy thing to do but the way to a happier life is nothing but difficult.

I’d like you to take a moment to read the quote several times and tell yourself, “People’s opinions about me will not affect how I live my life”. By all means, print the quote out and frame it on your bedroom wall as well.

Leave a Reply

